Beyond Activism

The Impact of the Resolutions and Other Activities of the European Parliament in the Field of Human Rights Outside the European Union

pp. 336, 1° ed.
The European Inter-University Centre for Human Rights and Democratisation (EIUC, http://www.eiuc.org) is an interdisciplinary centre of education, training and research activities in European policy areas related to the promotion of human rights and democracy.
The principal activities of EIUC are: to organise the European Master’s Degree in Human Rights and Democratisation (E.MA); to manage the EIUC EU-UN Fellowship Programme; to initiate other training and research activities in the field of human rights and democratisation.
Given the extensive involvement of academics and experts at the highest level from all EU Member States as well as leading experts and representatives from the EU institutions and other intergovernmental organisations, EIUC is uniquely positioned to pool and mobilise European expertise
and institutional co-operation in the area of human rights and democratisation.

As of 2007, the EIUC composition includes the following 34 universities: University of Graz and University of Vienna (Austria), Catholic University Leuven and Université Libre de Bruxelles (Belgium), University of Cyprus (Cyprus), Masaryk University, Brno (Czech Republic), University of Copenhagen and University of Southern Denmark in cooperation with the Danish Institute for Human Rights (Denmark), Tartu University (Estonia), Åbo Akademy University (Finland), Université R. Schuman Strasbourg (France), Ruhr-University Bochum and University of Hamburg (Germany), Aristotle University of Thessaloniki and Panteion University Athens (Greece), Eötvös Loránd University, Budapest (Hungary), National University of Ireland, Galway and University College
Dublin - National University of Ireland, Dublin (Ireland), Ca’ Foscari University of Venice and University of Padua (Italy), University of Latvia (Latvia), University of Vilnius (Lithuania), Université du Luxembourg (Luxembourg), University of Malta (Malta), Adam Mickiewicz University, Poznan (Poland), New University of Lisbon and University of Coimbra (Portugal), Comenius University, Bratislava (Slovak Republic), University of Ljubljana (Slovenia), University of Deusto, Bilbao and University of Seville (Spain), Maastricht University (The Netherlands), Queen’s University Belfast and University of Nottingham (United Kingdom).
The following E.MA Universities cooperating with EIUC are: University of Helsinki (Finland),
Université de Montpellier (France), Lund University and Uppsala University (Sweden),
and Utrecht University (The Netherlands).